) page.headerData.9999 = TEXT page.headerData.9999.value(


Norbert Darabos

President (Chairman of the Board)

Norbert Darabos was Austrian Minister of Defence from 2007 - 2013 and Burgenland's State Councillor for Social Affairs and Health from 2015 - 2019. He was a member of the Austrian Parliament for many years and in his function as Secretary of the Austrian social-democratic party (SPÖ) he led several election campaigns. As a historian, he is currently responsible for establishment of the "Museum for the Contemporary History of Burgenland" at Schlaining Castle. Since 2019 Norbert Darabos has been President of the ACP.

Dr Peter Kostelka

Honorary President

Peter Kostelka was Austrian Federal Ombudsman from 2001 to 2013, responsible for social affairs, transport, health, youth and family. From 2009 to 2013 he also served as Secretary General of the International Ombudsman Institute (I.O.I.). From 1994 to 2000 he was Chairman of the social-democratic (SPÖ) Club in the Austrian Parliament and from 1990 to 1994 State Secretary in the Federal Chancellery. Since 2018 he has been President of the Austrian Pensioners' Association. Peter Kostelka was President of the ACP from 2013 - 2019 and has been Honorary President since 2019.

Rudolf Luipersbeck


Rudolf Luipersbeck was Managing Director of Kurbad Bad Tatzmannsdorf AG from 1979 to 2015. Under his leadership the community changed from a health resort to a spa and wellness destination. He is a co-founder of the Jormannsdorf Health Academy and heads the district office of the Austrian Red Cross. Rudolf Luipersbeck has been a member of the ACP board since 2014.

Johann Pucher

Vice President

Johann Pucher was Head of the Directorate for Security Policy in the Austrian Ministry of Defence from 2007 until his retirement. In 1974 he participated for the first time in a UN peacekeeping mission in Cyprus. From 1985 to 1987 he was Deputy Chief of staff of the UN troops on the Golan Heights. In 2002 he was Director of RACVIAC - Center for Security Cooperation in Zagreb. Johann Pucher has been a member of the ACP board since 2013.

Dr Peter Steyrer

Board Member

Peter Steyrer was from 1999-2020 member of the Green Club in the Austrian Parliament. At present he is a member of the cabinet of the Vice-Chancellor. From 1979 - 1985 he was active in the Austrian Peace Movement and was involved in the network “Gewissenfreiheit”. Until 1995 he was engaged in counselling for deserters. He is an expert in peace and security policy. Peter Steyrer has been a member of the ACP board since 2019.

Markus Szelinger

Vice President

Markus Szelinger has been the Mayor of Stadtschlaining since 2012 and is Managing Director of the Environmental Service (Umweltdienst) Burgenland. He completed his alternative military service at the ACP and has been associated with the institute ever since. He has been a member of the ACP board since 2011.



Dr Christine Teuschler

Vice President

Christine Teuschler has been Managing Director of the Burgenland Adult Education Centre (Volkshochschule) since 1991. She is a founding member and Deputy Chairperson of RE.F.U.G.I.U.S., an association, which commemorates the victims of the Nazi regime in Rechnitz and supports a culture of coexistence. As an adult educator she is involved in many projects in the field of political and intercultural education. Christine Teuschler has been a member of the AC Pboard since 2013.